Somewhat Meditteranean Couscous (?)

The euphoria of yesterday’s award ebbed away into an ocean of Monday morning blues!! (Thanks, Unmotivated Enthusiast yet again for the honor) Alright so I have started working after two whole long years. While I have been used to a five day week, it’s now time for a six day week! Oh bummer! And, boy was I surprised to know that everyone else in the group suffered the same predicament.

I thought I would be the only spoilt brat trying to look attentive but I had plenty of company. While I yawned heartily to glory, others looked like they had matchsticks to keep up the eyelids open (much like the Tom and Jerry cartoon). My favourite pass time is observing people. There never is a dearth of any entertainment when a group of people are stuck together. The interactions and the surprises and not so surprises can put the Bold and Beautiful to shame!!

Anyhow just as a special treat to get over a seemingly never ending day, I packed myself a pearl couscous salad! Then why the name? Well, that’s because there wasn’t a traditional recipe that I followed. I put in a bunch of things and the end result turned out absolutely yum. I am not particularly good at giving recipes to the T. Because I don’t follow a recipe to the T myself. I am always eye balling stuff and going on intuition. Here’s going to be a really different recipe format and I hope a lot of you will enjoy it.

What I did:

I cooked the couscous as per the instructions on the back of the packet (and yes, I used pearl couscous not the ordinary semolina like couscous. I was a tad sceptical but I enjoyed this as well).In a separate pan, I sautéed finely chopped onions, carrot and red and green bell peppers. Let the veggies retain a little of their bite! The texture works great for the dish. To the veggies I added the cooked couscous and seasoned with salt and pepper. I love vinegar so I splashed a dash of balsamic vinegar and a little less than a dash of red wine vinegar. Sprinkle generously parsley and chives. I used parsley because I had it at home but I much prefer the taste and flavour of coriander/ cilantro. Slivered almonds or toasted pine nuts add just the extra crunch that makes the dish complete.

Ohh and I forgot what’s with the name? It’s my concoction given that balsamic vinegar is typically Italian. Italy is on the Mediterranean but it’s still Italian and not Mediterranean. Plus there’s red wine vinegar and chives. None of these are traditionally Mediterranean.

For all those who want a list, here’s a list of ingredients:

Pearl couscous, onion, green bell pepper, red bell pepper, Red wine vinegar, Balsamic vinegar, Salt and pepper, Chives and parsley, Optional- Slivered almonds or pine nuts. For proportions use your intuition and memories you have of food. It goes such a long way!!

I must say it was such a yum meal, I cannot tell you! And with a nice full and content tummy, I went right back to sleep in the post lunch session. Dreaming about how I had to blog about this!!

I would appreciate if you would tell me how you thi if this proportionless recipe! I’d like to say it’s the Indian way of cooking.

Leave your comments below!! I look forward to additions, subtractions and criticism!!

Happy blogging people!

Leave a Reply

