Image

Foods Cancer Hates!

While I was writing yesterday, it struck me that I did not write in detail about everything I did in the last 365 days. Honestly, there is so much to write about, just one paragraph in one blog wouldn’t do justice. So, here I am going to write about the diet I followed. I will make sure to post another blog on the books I read and the things I did. It helped me and I hope it helps others.

At the very beginning, I have got to say this, there is a TON of information out there for cancer. But motivation is key. If you are looking this up for a near and dear one, please do not pressurise them into anything. Let the choice be theirs. It’s got to come from within. In case their motivation is low, get them to read ‘The Journey’ by Brandon Bays or ‘Dying To Be Me’ by Anita Murjani to get their motivation high.

Cancer hates everything that everyone says is good for you but you’ve never wanted to eat. So in general, put the sugar away. Let the refined flour give way to wholewheat, buckwheat or rice flour. Use the oven in place of the frying pan. Gorge on the nuts and berries. Processed foods are a no no. Go vegetarian, go organic, go whole! Yeah, I know, that is a BIG change but it’s well worth it. Opposed to general belief, vegetables do have tastes and there are a ton of vegetarian options out there to choose from. It’s just a matter of getting away from routine!

With the generalities over, let’s move on to something more specific. Here’s my daily schedule for juices, ‘shots’ and specific foods I incorporated into my everyday diet. I was also following the budwig diet where I ate the quark/ cottage cheese with flaxseed and flaxseed oil mixture thrice a day.

Before breakfast:

Wheatgrass tablets-(I couldn’t handle the fresh pressed juice. If it works for you, the real thing is best.)

Hemaplex tabs to keep my hemoglobin up.

Breakfast:

One bowl of quark mix with nuts, berries and fresh seasonal fruit with honey.

Two dried figs, two dried apricots, ten raisins that have been soaked in water, overnight. Takes care of the constipation.

Mid morning:

Green juice: Run half a bunch each of spinach, mint and cilantro with one pulpy fruit (Apple or pear or peach or even a few dates), 1/2″ piece ginger, 1/2 lemon juice and a little water through a mixer. Then strain it out though a muslin cloth and you are good to go. It’s delicious, believe it or not. FYI, this is also good for hypertension and stress related disorders.

Sumenta tablets for depression.

Three spirulina tablets. Great protein source and for overall energy levels.

Lunch:

This meal was very varied. In general it was a vegetable curry, a bowl of dal (Indian lentils) and rice or and Indian flat bread made of just wholewheat flour. Of course another bowl of quark and flaxseed mixture. Salad ALWAYS. 1tsp of julienned ginger or turmeric marinated in lemon/lime juice and salt.

Tea time:

Red juice: Juice one carrot, half a beetroot, 1/4″ piece of ginger through a mixer. Sometimes the veggies aren’t inherently sweet, in which case add some honey. Squirt of lime or lemon juice.

‘The shot’: Juice of one whole lemon, 3/4 tsp of turmeric, 1/2 tsp of ginger and 1 tbsp honey. Gulp it down. Your hair might stick out each time but just drink it down.

Three tablespoons of tinned asparagus purée ( because I couldn’t get fresh where I live).

Repeat dosages of Sumenta and spirulina.

Dinner:

Similar to lunch. But sometimes I just wanted to have a one pot meal, consisting of a hearty soup. Sometimes a hearty sandwich.

Try to incorporate as much coconut as you can. Coconut water with the flesh is great for you. I also had about 2lts of water a day. Peeing is the best way to get your toxins of chemo and the necrotic tissue out from your system.

I am a vegetarian. So I tried to have at least two bowls of lentils a day to keep my protein levels up.

Oh well, so this is what my day usually looked like in terms of diet. This diet is also good to follow for anyone who just wants to stay healthy. Try to be creative. Try to talk to your food and relish it.

And everyone, I have just begun blogging so I request you to give me tips on what you would like to read about and how to improve my blog (how does one crop the featured image?)!!!

6 thoughts on “Foods Cancer Hates!

  1. “Your hair might stick out each time but just drink it down.” that was funny… I’m so going to read thru all ur posts … ur too interesting for a breezy read..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

